Review of the My Best Buy® Credit Card and the My Best Buy® Visa®

Brendan Harkness

Brendan Harkness | Reviews

Nov 15, 2018 | Updated Dec 03, 2018

Credit Card Insider receives compensation from some credit card issuers as advertisers. Advertiser relationships do not affect card ratings or our Best Card Picks, or how one card is compared to another. BestBuy, Citi and Visa have not endorsed this content in any way.

Credit Card Insider has collected card information independently. Issuers did not provide the details, nor are they responsible for their accuracy.

Learn more about how we rate cards.

Best Buy offers two branded credit cards for customers: the My Best Buy® Credit Card and My Best Buy® Visa® (formerly My Best Buy Mastercard).

If you’ve shopped at Best Buy, it’s likely an employee has encouraged you to get one of these cards. They don’t like to take “no” for an answer, at least at first, leading some customers to grow frustrated in the checkout lane.

We see this as a somewhat nasty method of advertising, because employees often push these cards on people who don’t fully understand the terms with promises of instant savings. Save $20 right now on a new TV? Why not? But the checkout lane is not a good place to make serious financial decisions that will affect your credit health, especially when you’re also being tempted with promotional offers.

There are two ways to use these cards when making purchases at Best Buy: to get 5% back in rewards, or to get deferred financing on big purchases. The first way is a good tactic that could save you quite a bit of money; the second way is a relatively poor option that could come back to bite you.

The My Best Buy Credit Card can only be used at Best Buy and BestBuy.com. The My Best Buy Visa card can be used anywhere Visa is accepted, and is issued by Citibank.

We don’t usually recommend retail store credit cards, but these cards can be quite rewarding if you consistently spend a lot of money at Best Buy. However, we’ve received many complaints about these cards from cardholders who have had a hard time dealing with customer support, or were surprised by unexpected fees or payment requests.

Although these offers could be tempting, we encourage you to consider other general-use reward credit cards first. Start by taking a look at some of our alternative suggestions below.

In this review, we’ll compare these cards and discuss how to use them properly. Then we’ll suggest some other options that might work better for you.

My Best Buy® Credit Card
Apply Now

My Best Buy® Credit Card

For People with
Fair Credit

  • Annual Fee: $0
  • Interest Rate: 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)
Quick Card Facts
  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy and BestBuy.com, or deferred financing for eligible purchases
  • No annual fee
My Best Buy® Visa®
Apply Now

My Best Buy® Visa®

For People with
Fair Credit

  • Annual Fee: $0 or $59 (depending on creditworthiness)
  • Interest Rate: 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)
Quick Card Facts
  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy OR deferred financing on purchases of $199 and higher.
  • 3% back in rewards at Gas Stations, Grocery Stores (through December 2018), and Home Furnishing Stores (through December 2018)
  • 2% back in rewards at Restaurants
  • 1% back in rewards on all other purchases
  • Annual fee of $0 or $59, depending on creditworthiness

Our Rating: 2 Out of 5 Stars

We give the My Best Buy Credit Card and My Best Buy Visa 2 out of 5 Stars each. They get 2 Stars for the rewards you can earn and the My Best Buy membership, but the deferred interest offers and customer support bring their scores down.

Why We Like Them

  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy
  • 10% back in rewards on your first day of purchases, within 14 days of opening an account
  • My Best Buy membership perks, and an easier path to higher status levels
  • No annual fees, but only if your credit is good enough

Why They Could Be Better

  • Rewards have to be used at Best Buy, or with promotional partners
  • Deferred financing offers may sound good but they can result in huge interest charges
  • Some applicants will get a card version with a $59 annual fee, based on credit history
  • Many reports of poor customer service

The Best Buy cards may be useful for people who spend a lot of money at Best Buy every year. But there are many other good card options that can provide rewards at a wider variety of retailers, with 0% intro rates that don’t use deferred financing. Check out some of those alternative cards below.

Where Can I Use The Best Buy Credit Cards?

  • The My Best Buy Credit Card can only be used at Best Buy and BestBuy.com
  • The My Best Buy Visa can be used anywhere Visa cards are accepted

Best Buy accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover cards as payment methods, in addition to its own co-branded cards.

Insider Advice: How to Get the Most Out of Your Cards

  • Go for the rewards option: When making certain purchases at Best Buy you’ll be able to choose between earning rewards (the “Standard Credit” option) or taking a deferred financing offer. We recommend taking the rewards in most situations.
  • Be careful with deferred financing offers: If you take a deferred financing offer, make it a priority to get all your monthly payments in on time, and to pay off the balance by the end of the term. If you don’t you’ll be charged interest going all the way back to the purchase date, making that TV or computer way more expensive than it needed to be.
  • Be aware of your account and statements: Many people report being confused or misdirected by their account information or statements with these cards. Stay on top of your monthly statements to help avoid any nasty surprises.

The Rewards

Earning

Spending Rewards

My Best Buy Visa Only

  • 3% back in rewards at:
    • Gas Stations
    • Grocery Stores (through December 2018)
    • Home Furnishing Stores (through December 2018)

My Best Buy Visa Only

  • 2% back in rewards at Restaurants

My Best Buy Visa Only

  • 1% back in rewards for all other purchases
Introductory Bonus Offer
  • 10% back in rewards on your first day of purchases; must be within the first 14 days after account opening

You can only use the My Best Buy Credit Card at Best Buy and BestBuy.com. The My Best Buy Visa can be used anywhere Visa cards are accepted, and you’ll get some extra bonus categories with that card too.

Regular members will earn the equivalent of 5% cash back on Best Buy purchases. The rewards you earn are actually in the form of points (2.5X points per dollar spent), but since every point is always worth 2 cents when redeemed, it’s simpler to think of this as a cash back rewards program.

My Best Buy Elite Plus cardholders will earn a 6% cash back equivalent for Best Buy purchases. You can become an Elite Plus member by spending $3,500 on Best Buy purchases in a calendar year, or by spending that much anywhere with the My Best Buy Visa. Frequent Best Buy shoppers should check out the benefits available for being an Elite or Elite Plus member.

When making purchases of $199 or more you’ll be able to choose either the “Standard Credit” option or a deferred financing plan. The Standard Credit option will provide rewards like any other purchase. The deferred financing plan will let you pay off the purchase over time at no interest. But if you fail to pay off the entire balance by the due date, or make a late payment, you’ll be charged interest going all the way back to the purchase date.

If you choose a deferred financing offer you will not earn rewards for that purchase.

We generally recommend that you pick the rewards over the financing plan, although you may decide that you need some time to pay off a big purchase. If that’s the case you’ll probably be better off with a card that offers a true 0% introductory period for purchases. We dig into the details of the deferred financing plans below, showing how to use them correctly and why you might want to avoid them.

Every few months, Best Buy states that it will introduce new bonus categories for the My Best Buy Visa to let you earn more rewards at different merchants. The current gas, grocery, and restaurant categories are pretty straightforward. But what counts as a home furnishing store? Best Buy gives the following examples.

Home Furnishing Category Examples
Ashley Furniture Bed, Bath & Beyond
Ethan Allen IKEA
La-Z-Boy Pier 1 Imports
Restoration Hardware Select Comfort
Sur La Table Williams Sonoma

Redeeming

Both of these cards have the same rewards redemption system. The rewards you earn can only be redeemed for Best Buy purchases, or with Best Buy promotional partners.

Rewards can be redeemed in increments of 250 points — every 250 points is equal to $5. That’s why you earn a 5% cash back equivalent with these cards as a basic member: If you spend $100 you’ll get 250 points, worth $5, and $5 is 5% of $100.

You can redeem your rewards for reward certificates or Best Buy promotional offers, or with Best Buy promotional partners. Reward certificates are like gift cards, which can only be used at Best Buy retail stores or BestBuy.com, or in the Best Buy mobile app. Some merchandise will not be valid for purchase with reward certificates.

The Benefits

Deferred Financing Plans

Instead of earning rewards, you can choose a deferred financing plan for Best Buy purchases of $199 and up.

These plans give you an opportunity to pay over time without being charged interest, but there’s a big catch: If you fail to pay off the entire balance by the due date, or if you make any late payments, you’ll be charged interest going all the way back to the purchase date.

So if you choose a deferred financing plan to give yourself some breathing room, you must pay off the balance by the end of the term while making timely payments each month in order to avoid interest charges. Otherwise you’ll end up paying quite a bit more than the original purchase price. Talk about a backfire. This particular feature is why we generally recommend avoiding deferred financing and going with a card with a true 0% introductory APR period, which won’t apply retroactive interest like this.

Follow these three instructions to stay safe with deferred financing plans:

  • Divide the total balance by the length of the term (in months) to find the payment amount you should make each month
  • Always make that monthly payment on time (set up autopay to make this easier)
  • Pay off the entire balance by the end of the financing term (this should happen automatically if you make that payment every month)

Your statement will show a minimum required monthly payment, but if you only pay this minimum amount you probably won’t pay off the balance by the end of the term. This can be a bit tricky, because it may seem like you were doing everything right by paying what you were asked to pay, only to get hit hard with interest later on.

So you’ll need to divide your balance by the term length to figure out the appropriate monthly payment amount that will completely pay off the balance by the end of the term. There is no penalty for early repayment, so you should generally do so if possible.

There are currently four standard deferred financing plans, and four limited-time deferred financing plans. These plans are subject to change, although the deferred financing aspect will remain the same (unless we see a major change to this program).

Standard Deferred Financing Plans

Purchase Type and Price Term Length
Any purchase of $199+ 6 months
Unlocked phone and Geek Squad purchases of $649+ 24 months
Home theater and Geek Squad purchases of $799+ 24 months
Select purchases 48 months

Limited-Time Deferred Financing Plans

Purchase Type and Price Term Length Offer Ends
Any purchase of $479+ 18 months 12/26/18
Major appliance and Geek Squad purchases of $479+ 18 months 1/2/19
Select Dell 2-in-1 laptop purchases of $649+ 24 months 1/5/19
Major appliance and Geek Squad purchases of $1,999+ 24 months 11/29/18

These deferred financing plans can be a good deal if you’ll be responsible in paying them off, without getting confused about your repayment schedule. But you run the risk of an accidental late or missed payment, or a problem with the card issuer that could prevent your payments from being received on time. We’ve seen many reports of people who have landed in such a situation, and if that happens you may run into a big hassle trying to straighten it out with the card issuer (if you can get it straightened out at all).

Instead of using a deferred financing plan, consider the many other reward credit cards that offer introductory 0% APR periods for purchases. Many of these intro periods last for at least 12 months, and there are no spending requirements to activate them. With these cards:

  • You can buy anything
  • You won’t be limited to certain purchase amounts or types
  • You’ll be able to use them anywhere
  • You might even earn some rewards too

You can read more about Best Buy’s deferred financing plans and see the current offers here. Here’s a demonstration of how they work.

Imagine you buy a laptop for $300, and you choose a 6-month deferred financing plan with an APR of 26%. Consider the following two scenarios:

  • Scenario 1: You pay off the deferred purchase on time, perfectly following the schedule you come up with by dividing the balance by the term length, and completely avoiding being charged interest.
  • Scenario 2: You fail to pay off the purchase on time because your monthly payments are too small, and interest ends up being charged going all the way back to the purchase date.

Check out these graphical representations of each scenario, provided by Best Buy, and you’ll see how Scenario 2 ends up costing more. In this case you’d only end up paying $31 extra, assuming you finish paying off the balance at the end of the term, but the situation could be much worse if the original balance was bigger or the repayment period was longer (we’ve heard from cardholders who have been charged hundreds of dollars in deferred interest).

Scenario 1: You pay off the deferred balance with equal monthly payments of $50 over six months, for a total of $300.

Scenario 1: You pay off the deferred balance with equal monthly payments of $50 over six months, for a total of $300. Image credit: Best Buy

Scenario 2: You fail to pay off the deferred balance over six months because you only pay $27 per month, for a total of $162.

Scenario 2: You fail to pay off the deferred balance over six months because you only pay $27 per month, for a total of $162. Image credit: Best Buy

$31 in extra interest isn’t too much, but consider a more extreme example. Say you buy a $1,000 home theater system with a 24-month deferred financing plan, at 26% APR. On the second month you miss your payment due date by two days, because you never set up autopay. Oops! A minor mistake, with plenty of time to make up for it, right? Wrong.

Because of that missed payment, you’ll immediately be charged interest on the full $1,000 balance for the entire 24-month loan term. That comes to $520 in interest! So overall you’d end up paying $1,520 in total for that fancy new system, instead of just $1,000, and every time you sit down to relax in front of it you’ll have a gnawing feeling of regret. If only, if only…

This is why it’s so important to completely understand what you’re getting into with these deferred financing plans. They may sound great when the Best Buy guy is cajoling you with promises of no interest and easy low payments, but the reality is much more sinister. Think carefully before accepting such a plan — they probably aren’t worth the anxiety. Your wallet and future self will thank you.

My Best Buy Elite Plus

Cardholders of both cards are automatically enrolled in the My Best Buy rewards program, which provides a few nice benefits, especially for frequent shoppers.

You can reach a higher member status (Elite or Elite Plus) by spending a certain amount at Best Buy in a calendar year. Or, if you’re a My Best Buy Visa cardholder you’ll have an easier time, because every purchase you make with the card will count toward a higher status. The higher membership levels provide better perks to make shopping at Best Buy a bit cheaper and easier.

Basic My Best Buy Membership My Best Buy Elite My Best Buy Elite Plus
Membership Requirement Automatic for cardholders $1,500 in purchases per calendar year $3,500 in purchases per calendar year
Rewards 5% back in rewards 5% back in rewards 6% back in rewards
Point Banking Option No Yes Yes
Free Shipping Free standard shipping (until 12/25/18) Free shipping and scheduled delivery Free 2-day shipping and scheduled delivery
Returns & Exchanges 15 Days 30 Days 45 Days
Access to Special Sales and Offers Yes Yes (Elite access) Yes (Elite Plus access)
Birthday Gift Yes Yes Yes
24/7 Customer Service Basic (1-888-BEST-BUY) Dedicated customer service line Dedicated customer service line

The Terms & Fees

Card Purchase APR Balance Transfer APR Cash Advance APR
My Best Buy Credit Card 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases) None None
My Best Buy Visa 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)  27.24% Variable 29.99% Variable
Card Annual Fee Foreign Transaction Fee Balance Transfer Fee Cash Advance Fee
My Best Buy Credit Card $0  N/A None None
My Best Buy Visa $0 or $59 (depending on creditworthiness)  See Terms 5%, $15 minimum 5%, $10 minimum
Card Penalty APR Late Fee Returned Payment Fee
My Best Buy Credit Card None Up to $38 See Terms
My Best Buy Visa None Up to $38 See Terms

The My Best Buy Credit Card and My Best Buy Visa are similar in many ways, but there are some differences in their terms and fees.

As you can see, the store-only version does not allow balance transfers or cash advances, but the Visa version does allow them. This is because you can only use that card for Best Buy purchases.

And now, a bit of explanation. There are actually two versions of each of these cards. The store-only card can come as:

  • My Best Buy Preferred Credit Card
  • My Best Buy Credit Card

And the Visa card can come as:

  • My Best Buy Platinum Visa
  • My Best Buy Gold Visa

The specific card you get will depend on your creditworthiness when you apply. Basically, the better your credit history, the better the card you’ll get. You may also be given a choice between the store-only card and the Visa.

When you apply, you’ll first be considered for the My Best Buy Platinum Visa. If you don’t qualify, you’ll next be considered for the My Best Buy Preferred Credit Card; next you’ll be considered for the My Best Buy Credit Card; and finally you’ll be considered for the My Best Buy Gold Visa.

The biggest difference to be aware of is that the My Best Buy Gold Visa has a $59 annual fee. The other card versions do not have annual fees.

So, you may apply for these cards assuming you won’t have to pay an annual fee, only to find that you were only qualified for the My Best Buy Gold Visa. Now you’re on the hook for a yearly fee when you just wanted a discount on some electronics.

But fortunately, you can avoid having to pay the annual fee if you cancel your new card within 30 days. Cancelling or closing a credit card has its own consequences, but it would probably be worth it in this case if you don’t want a card with a fee.

You can view the terms and conditions for these cards here. Take note that there are several different fee tables for these card offers.

Customer Support

Phone Support 1-888-BEST-BUY
(1-888-237-8289)

Unfortunately, the My Best Buy credit cards are known for having poor customer service, both the store-only version and the Visa. We’ve received many complaints from people who have had a hard time dealing with customer support, with trouble reaching representatives or finding resolutions to their problems.

This isn’t a big surprise because store credit cards are infamous for having relatively bad customer service compared to general-use cards provided by the major credit card issuers. Although these cards are issued by Citi, a major card issuer, the service seems to be lacking.

If you use one of these cards and need to contact customer support, we recommend being patient and trying to get proof of your interaction. If a customer support rep tells you that a particular purchase will be refunded or that you were billed mistakenly, for example, get that in writing.

The Bottom Line

The My Best Buy Credit Card and My Best Buy Visa could give frequent Best Buy shoppers a nice 5% return on every purchase — but there are a few downsides to be aware of.

Beware the deferred financing plans, and consider choosing the 5% back in rewards instead. If you do take a financing offer, be absolutely sure to make on-time payments every month and pay off the entire balance by the end of the term.

Remember that you may only qualify for the Gold Visa version, which comes with a $59 annual fee. That would make your card significantly less valuable overall, so you should consider cancelling that and going with a general-use card designed for fair or average credit instead, if you can qualify.

Overall, these cards can be fairly rewarding at Best Buy, but they come with some strings. We suggest taking a look at some alternative cards below that can provide true 0% APR introductory periods for purchases, or that would be good for buying the types of merchandise you’ll find at Best Buy.

How to Apply for the My Best Buy Credit Cards

You can apply for the My Best Buy Credit Card and My Best Buy Visa card by clicking the Apply Now button below. However, the application process is a bit different than most cards.

First, you’ll need to create a My Best Buy account. Then you’ll be able to apply, but you can’t apply for a particular card.

Instead, you’ll first be considered for the My Best Buy Platinum Visa. If you don’t qualify, you’ll next be considered for the My Best Buy Preferred Credit Card; if you don’t qualify for that, you’ll be considered for the My Best Buy Credit Card. Finally, if you don’t qualify for that you’ll be considered for a My Best Buy Visa Gold Card, which has a $59 annual fee.

In some cases you may be asked whether you’d prefer a My Best Buy Preferred or My Best Buy Visa account.

Qualifications and Requirements

  • Must create a My Best Buy account
  • Must be 18 to apply
  • Personal identifying information, including birth date, Social Security number, and phone number
  • Total household income and source of income
  • Monthly mortgage/rent payment
My Best Buy® Credit Card
Apply Now

My Best Buy® Credit Card

For People with
Fair Credit

  • Annual Fee: $0
  • Interest Rate: 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)
Quick Card Facts
  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy and BestBuy.com, or deferred financing for eligible purchases
  • No annual fee
My Best Buy® Visa®
Apply Now

My Best Buy® Visa®

For People with
Fair Credit

  • Annual Fee: $0 or $59 (depending on creditworthiness)
  • Interest Rate: 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)
Quick Card Facts
  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy OR deferred financing on purchases of $199 and higher.
  • 3% back in rewards at Gas Stations, Grocery Stores (through December 2018), and Home Furnishing Stores (through December 2018)
  • 2% back in rewards at Restaurants
  • 1% back in rewards on all other purchases
  • Annual fee of $0 or $59, depending on creditworthiness

Alternatives to the My Best Buy Credit Cards

The following cards would be good alternatives to the Best Buy credit cards. The Amazon card is excellent for buying the types of merchandise you’ll find at Best Buy. The other cards offer long 0% introductory periods that you can use to pay off purchases, and these are not deferred interest offers like you’ll get with the Best Buy cards (and the Amex card even offers rewards on top of that).

 

The Amazon Prime Rewards Visa Signature Card (Review) offers the same 5% return on your spending that you’ll get from the Best Buy card. But in this case you get that discount on the full range of Amazon merchandise, which includes most (or all) of what you’ll find at Best Buy, plus much more. There is no 0% APR offer, however.

This card requires an Amazon Prime membership, so if you already have one of those you’re in luck. If you don’t, there’s another version of this card that offers 3% back at Amazon, the Amazon Rewards Visa Signature Card (Review).

Rewards

Spending Rewards
  • 5% cash back at:
    • Amazon.com
    • Whole Foods Markets
  • 2% cash back at:
    • Restaurants
    • Gas stations
    • Drugstores
  • 1% cash back for all other purchases
Introductory Bonus Offer
  • $70 Amazon gift card instantly upon credit approval

The Amazon Prime Rewards card is an excellent choice for anyone who’s already an Amazon Prime member — why not get 5% back for what you’ll end up buying already? If you’re already paying for an Amazon Prime membership, this card is a no-brainer.

Amazon carries practically everything that Best Buy carries, plus a whole lot more, so you’ll still have access to the same kinds of merchandise. And if you shop at Whole Foods too, this card will put a bit of a dent in those organic prices.

You’ll also get three more bonus categories in addition to all that. Although 2% back isn’t very high when it comes to reward cards, if you don’t have a better card for those purchases then the Prime Rewards card could be pretty valuable for you.

Benefits

The Amazon Prime Rewards card comes with a couple nice perks, along with a variety of shopping and travel protections. You won’t get anything like this from the Best Buy cards.

  • Visa Signature Luxury Hotel Collection: At eligible hotels you’ll get a $25 food and beverage credit, automatic room upgrades when available, VIP guest status, and more.
  • Visa Signature Concierge: Call any time for non-emergency assistance, like help making dining or travel reservations.
  • Shopping and Travel Protections: Such as Purchase Protection, Auto Rental Collision Damage Waivers, Lost Luggage Reimbursement, and several more.

Terms & Fees

The Amazon Prime Rewards card has no annual fee, but it requires an Amazon Prime membership. If you’re approved for the card but don’t have a Prime membership, you’ll get the Amazon Rewards Visa Signature Card (Review) instead, which only offers 3% back at Amazon and Whole Foods. And if you ever cancel your Prime membership you’ll be downgraded to that card as well.

The Amazon cards do not have 0% introductory APRs. But they also have no foreign transaction fees, making them good for anyone who travels abroad or makes purchases in foreign currency.

Read more in our Review of the Amazon Prime Rewards Visa Signature Card

 

The Blue Cash Everyday® Card from American Express® (Review) is a good reward credit card for everyday spending, with valuable bonus categories and no annual fee. It also features a lengthy 0% intro APR that could be very handy for paying off purchases over time.

Rewards

Spending Rewards
  • 3% cash back at U.S. supermarkets, up to $6,000 in purchases per year (then 1%)
  • 2% cash back at:
    • U.S. gas stations
    • Select U.S. department stores
  • 1% cash back for all other purchases
Introductory Bonus Offer
  • $150 bonus cash back for spending $1,000 in the first 3 months after account opening

So you’ll earn cash back on some common purchases that most people make pretty often — groceries and gas — along with purchases at select U.S. department stores, which includes retailers like Macy’s, Nordstrom, Bloomingdales, and Kohl’s.

You won’t earn quite as much back as you would with the Best Buy cards (5%), but you’ll be able to earn cash back at a wider variety of merchants with the Blue Cash Everyday. You can also redeem your rewards for statement credits to reduce your balance, rather than being forced to use them at a particular retailer. There’s a decent introductory bonus, with a spending requirement that shouldn’t be too hard to reach for most people.

Benefits

The Blue Cash Everyday comes with some protection benefits that are pretty standard for most general-use credit cards, although you won’t find them on the Best Buy cards. It also includes the valuable Amex Offers perk, which allows you to earn more rewards at more stores than the bonus categories would typically permit.

  • Amex Offers: Earn extra cash back at a changing selection of merchants, including HelloFresh, Etsy, Showtime, and Harrys.com.
  • Entertainment Access: Get pre-sale tickets to sports, music, and cultural events.
  • Lowest Hotel Rates Guarantee: Book an eligible prepaid hotel room through Amex Travel, and you can be reimbursed if you find the same room going for less before you check in.
  • Complimentary ShopRunner membership: ShopRunner provides free two-day shipping and returns at select online retailers.
  • Shopping and Travel Protections: Including Purchase Protection, Extended Warranties, Travel Accident Insurance, and a Roadside Assistance Hotline.

Terms & Fees

The Blue Cash Everyday has no annual fee. It offers an introductory purchase and balance transfer APR of 0% for 15 months, quite a long time for a reward card. After that your regular rate will be 14.99%–25.99% Variable.

This intro rate will start as soon as you get the card, rather than being triggered by a certain purchase like the Best Buy cards. It’s also not a deferred interest offer, so if you’re carrying a balance when the term runs out you’ll be charged interest only on the remaining balance, rather than the entire balance from the start of the term. So it’s a much safer offer in general, even though it only lasts for a set amount of time after opening the card.

Read more in our Review of the American Express Blue Cash Everyday Credit Card

There’s another card in Amex’s Blue Cash line, the Blue Cash Preferred® Card from American Express® (Review). It has a $95 annual fee and offers 6% cash back at U.S. grocery stores up to $6,000 per year on purchases (then 1%), but its 0% intro period only lasts for 12 months. Your regular rate after that will be 14.99%–25.99% Variable.

 

The HSBC Gold Mastercard® (Review) has an exceptionally long 0% period for both purchases and balance transfers, and is one of the best cards available for carrying a balance over time. If you were interested in the Best Buy cards for their deferred financing offers, you should consider using this card to finance your purchases instead.

Rewards

This card does not offer rewards for purchases.

Benefits

You’ll get a few simple benefits which are common to many cards, along with a few that are less common. But the real value of the HSBC Gold Mastercard comes from the following section, the Terms & Fees.

  • Free FICO Credit Score: Check your FICO Score 8 for free whenever you’d like, based on your Equifax credit report.
  • Mastercard Airport Concierge: Get a 15% discount on eligible airport Meet and Greet services.
  • Yearly late fee waiver: Each year, your first late payment fee will be waived. But you should always make timely payments, because even if the fee is waived paying late can still hurt your credit.
  • Price Protection: If you find an eligible item being sold for less than you bought it for, you can be reimbursed for the difference in price.
  • Other Shopping and Travel Protections: Including Purchase Assurance Protection, MasterRental Insurance, Travel Accident Insurance, and more.

Terms & Fees

The HSBC Gold Mastercard has an introductory APR of 0% for 18 months for purchases and balance transfers, one of the longest available on any credit card. That will give you quite a while to pay off any purchases or balance transfers.

So you could buy a nice new TV or computer from Best Buy with this card and take 18 months to pay it off, regardless of the price. Although that might not be as long as the deferred interest offer you’d get from a Best Buy card, it’s still a pretty long time, and there’s no penalty if you don’t finish paying it off before it ends. You can also use it for purchases from anywhere, not just Best Buy.

After the 0% period is over, purchases and balance transfers will be subject to the regular APR of 12.99%, 16.99%, or 20.99% Variable.

This card has no annual fee.

Read more in our Review of the HSBC Gold Mastercard

 

The last card on our list, the BankAmericard® Credit Card, is pretty similar to the HSBC card above. But its intro period is a bit shorter, and there are some other differences in the fees that make this one of the best cards for balance transfers.

Rewards

This card does not offer rewards for purchases.

Benefits

Bank of America does not disclose all of the protection benefits that come with the BankAmericard. You’ll get the following credit score perk, and other than that you can expect to get some shopping and travel protections, like Purchase Protection and Auto Rental Collision Damage Waivers.

We can’t specify the benefits you’ll get, but this card is designed primarily for carrying a balance so the real action will come in the Terms & Fees section below.

  • Free FICO Credit Score: You can view your FICO Score 8 for free, based on your TransUnion credit report.

Terms & Fees

The BankAmericard is a low-rate card, offering an introductory APR of 0% for 15 months for purchases and balance transfers. That’s one of the longer periods you’ll find on a credit card, and it’s not a deferred interest offer like the Best Buy cards.

This card also stands out for having no balance transfer fee for transfers made during the first 60 days, a very rare feature when most cards charge 3% or 5% for transfers. If you’re carrying a balance at a high interest rate you could transfer it over to this card for free, and then take 15 months to pay it off without accumulating more interest. If you chose a deferred financing plan with a Best Buy card and then found that you couldn’t pay it off on time, for example, you could transfer that balance over to this card and then you wouldn’t have to worry about retroactive interest charges.

After the intro rate runs out you’ll get a regular APR of 14.99%–24.99% Variable for purchases and balance transfers.

The BankAmericard has no annual fee.

My Best Buy® Credit Card
Apply Now

My Best Buy® Credit Card

For People with
Fair Credit

  • Annual Fee: $0
  • Interest Rate: 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)
Quick Card Facts
  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy and BestBuy.com, or deferred financing for eligible purchases
  • No annual fee
My Best Buy® Visa®
Apply Now

My Best Buy® Visa®

For People with
Fair Credit

  • Annual Fee: $0 or $59 (depending on creditworthiness)
  • Interest Rate: 27.24% Variable (11.90% Fixed for select purchases)
Quick Card Facts
  • 5% back in rewards at Best Buy OR deferred financing on purchases of $199 and higher.
  • 3% back in rewards at Gas Stations, Grocery Stores (through December 2018), and Home Furnishing Stores (through December 2018)
  • 2% back in rewards at Restaurants
  • 1% back in rewards on all other purchases
  • Annual fee of $0 or $59, depending on creditworthiness
The Best Buy credit cards could be valuable for some Best Buy diehards, but they might not be right for you. Take a look at our picks for the Best Reward Credit Cards to see more options, or explore other Retail Store Credit Cards.

Did you like this review? Go ahead and share it with a friend! And if you use either of these cards, leave your own review of the My Best Buy Credit Card or My Best Buy Visa for other readers, we’d love to hear from you!

Was this helpful?

The responses below are not provided or commissioned by bank advertisers. Responses have not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by bank advertisers. It is not the bank advertisers' responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

The Insider

Susan Shain
No Credit Check Credit Cards (And Why We Don’t Recommend Them)
Susan Shain | Dec 07, 2018

Looking for a no credit check credit card that also offers instant approval? Here are our recommendations — plus why you should proceed with caution.

Read More
Brendan Harkness
Review of the Victoria’s Secret Angel Card
Brendan Harkness | Dec 01, 2018

The Victoria's Secret Angel Card and PINK card are popular for their rewards. But are these store cards worth getting? Read our review to find out.

Read More
Susan Shain
What Are Contactless Credit Cards? And How Do I Get One?
Susan Shain | Nov 29, 2018

Contactless credit cards are finally catching fire in the U.S. Here’s how to use this futuristic technology — and start paying with a wave of your hand.

Read More